Our landscape

Biogeographic regions

Bioregion Map

Seven biogeographic regions (click map on right to enlarge) are found in the DCQ area making it the most diverse region in the state. This is in keeping with the wider Lake Eyre Basin, which has 17 bioregions making it the most varied catchment in Australia (Environment Australia 1995).

This diversity ranges from the eucalypt woodlands of the Desert Upland along the Great Dividing Range, through the rolling plains of the Mitchell Grass Downs and the vast floodplains of the Channel Country to the Simpson/Strzelecki Dunefields, one of the driest parts of Australia.

Landform types

There are several landforms typical of the region:

To the northeast lies the Desert Uplands which can be divided into two provinces with quite distinct landforms. The Prairie/Torrens Ck Alluvials – the flattest part of the DCQ region and the Alice Tableland – an area of sandstone ranges, much of which is covered by tertiary sand sheets.

On the eastern edge of the region lie the unique internal drainage basins of the salt Lakes Galilee and Buchanan.

The vast rolling Mitchell Grass Downs dominate the north and central parts of the region.

Dissected residual hills are found throughout the Channel Country – low (around 50 to 100 metres) and often mesa-like. Away from these hills run braided streams which increase in width downstream to join the vast floodplains of the channel country.

West of the Eyre Creek in the lower Georgina Catchment lies the Simpson Desert, a vast area of linear dunes running generally north-west to south-east. Other dune areas are in the far south near Cameron Corner and scattered through the channel country east as far as Jundah.

DCQ has also developed a
Community Information Paper
that provides more information on our landscape.

DCQ landscapes